Notice Board:


Residents are advised of a proposed electricity shutdown on SUNDAY, 21 OCTOBER 2018, between the hours of 08h00 and 16h00, in various areas of Nelson Mandela Bay, caused by the temporary shutdown of the College Drive Substation, to allow repairs and maintenance to be carried out on a local transformer.  

Areas affected: Mill Park, St. Georges Park (only end of College Drive Road), Glendinningvale, Greenacres, Scotstown.

Streets affected: Ascot Road, Barris Walk Street, Bradshaw Street, Churchill Road, College Drive, Conyngham Road, Cape Road, Dene Road, Fairford Road, Highbeech Road, Lenox Street, McLean Road, Mill Park Road, Mortimer Road, Nightingale Street, Ramsay Lane, Salisbury Avenue, Wares Road, Way Avenue, Wembley Road, Westview Drive, Woodville Road, Young Road. 

All installations must be treated as live for the duration of the outage. - Apologies are tendered for any inconvenience caused.

  About NMBM council

The City has 120 Councillors, being 60 Ward Councillors and 60 Proportional Representative (PR) Councillors, as elected by residents in the August 2016 elections. 


The Executive Mayor governs together with the Speaker, who is the Chairperson of the Metropolitan Council, the Deputy Executive Mayor and a team of Chairpersons of Portfolio Committees within an Executive Mayoral Committee system.

Our Executive Mayoral system is combined with a vibrant Ward Participatory System to ensure community participation at grassroots level.


Speaker of Council: 
Cllr Buyelwa Nancy Mafaya

MMC Corporate Services:
Cllr Makhi Feni

Executive Mayor: 
Cllr Mongameli  Ellcotte Bobani

MMC Economic Development, Tourism & Agriculture:
Cllr Noluthando  Queenit Pink

Deputy Executive Mayor:
Cllr Thsonono Christopher Solomon Buyeye

MMC Human Settlements:
Cllr Andile Castle  Ganners Mfunda

Chief Whip:
Cllr  Pumelele Stanley Ndoni

MMC Constituency Services:
Cllr Itumeleng Felicity Ranyele

MMC Budget & Treasury:
Cllr Mkhuseli Justice Mtsila

MMC Infrastructure, Engineering, Electricity & Energy
Cllr Andile Weah Lungisa

MMC Public Health:
Cllr Yolisa Margeret  Pali

MMC Roads & Transport
Cllr Rosie Daaminds

MPAC Chairperson:
Cllr Phumza Faith Tshanga nee' Toys

MMC Safety & Security
Cllr Litho Suka

MMC Sports, Recreation, Arts & Culture
Cllr Lehlohonolo Mfana

Click here to view your Ward Map


The Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality's Head of Administration is City Manager, Mr. Johann Mettler, who took office on 1 December 2015.

City Manager - Mr Johann Mettler


NMBM e-media library Click to take the two minute survey
Make use of the FREE e-media library service. Download books & Videos Learnership programmes
Internships & Graduate development
Virtual Tours of places in and around Nelson Mandela Bay Reduce landfill by exchanging your unwanted waste for FREE Take the 2 minute website survey to give feedback. Help us to help YOU.

Opinion Poll

Submit IDP feedback

Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Blog

Bay News Tabloid

Government Online
SA health